The Dallas Skyline Seen From the Trinity Industrial District — 1950
by Paula Bosse
by Paula Bosse
This is a GREAT view that isn’t seen a lot in photos of mid-century Dallas: a view of the bursting skyline, from the Trinity Industrial District. The photo comes from the wall of Burch Fabrics, which (as the John K. Burch Company) opened a new 12,000-square-foot plant in 1950 at 110 Howell Street (the building is seen in the foreground in the photo above).
Dallas Morning News, May 14, 1950
The Trinity Industrial District had entered something of a renaissance in 1950 when the area suddenly exploded with new construction. (Click for larger image.)
The boundaries of the District were described thusly (DMN, Jan. 14, 1951):
In almost the geographical center of Dallas, the Trinity Industrial District extends northward from the Texas & Pacific Railway to Hampton-Inwood Road, between the main line of the Rock Island Railway and the east levee of the Trinity River.
Here’s another view of the area, from a slightly different angle:
The photo above was part of a full-page ad touting the growth of the vibrant industrial growth in the District. To see the full-page ad (which features an impressively lengthy list of firms which “now occupy or have buildings under construction”), click here.
All that open space!
Top photo from Fabric-Guy, viewable on Flickr, here.
Clippings from The Dallas Morning News, as noted.
The location around the John K. Burch Co., today (Google):
Most images larger when clicked.
Copyright © 2015 Paula Bosse. All Rights Reserved.